Constitutional Council

Click here for the Public Documents Folder

Submit a Petition / Interpretation Request Here

Constitutional Council 2018-2019: Kevin Wang, Hannah Kirby, Conal Mueller, Jack Broitman, Anthony Williams, Eric Cai, and Andrea Tam. Not pictured: Kaitlyn Herndon

Constitutional Council is the main Judicial Body of the Student Union of Washington University in Saint Louis.

The Council is charged with undertaking the duties and responsibilities as set forth in Article 5, Section 1 of the Constitution of the Student Union of Washington University in Saint Louis. The Council is committed to fulfilling its role as the final arbiter of issues pertaining to the Constitution objectively and after thorough deliberations. The Council holds itself to the highest ethical standards when considering matters before it, undertakes rulings impartially, and avoids conflicts of interest. Individuals appearing before the The Council are treated with respect and dignity during all meetings and deliberations.

The Council is comprised of one Chief Justice, four Associate Justices, and one or more Alternate Justices. Representatives of the Judicial Branch are appointed by the President, confirmed by the Legislative Branch, and serve until they retire.

For any questions or help creating a student group constitution, don’t hesitate to reach out to the Chief Justice at

Scroll down to access the most updated Constitution and Statutes, the Interpretation Request form, and the Council’s past opinions.